Classic books to read if you liked “Little Women”

Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy are perhaps the most iconic sisters in literature and now the big screen.

Greta Gerwig’s film “Little woman“captured the hearts and minds of so many who first encountered these characters or were reintroduced to old friends. The March sisters have a special magic, which has resonated with readers far beyond. beyond its original publication.

The novel was originally published in 1868 and the writings of Louisa May Alcott have captivated readers for over 150 years. If the film and the novel have made you want more classic literature, the books on this list are sure to pique your interest.

From Jane Austen to Gabriel Garcia Marquez, these authors – and their stories – are must read.

1. “Pride and Prejudice”, by Jane Austen

This novel has just about everything that made you fall in love with “Little Women”. The Bennet sisters have different personalities and try to make their own way in society. Plus, the love story between Elizabeth and Darcy is a legendary mix of ups and downs.

2. “Beloved”, by Toni Morrison

This novel is a New York Times bestseller for a reason. It looks at the life of the protagonist, Sethe, who escaped slavery 18 years ago. She struggles with memories of the place she left in order to gain her freedom through this beautifully written story.

3. “Jane Eyre”, by Charlotte Brontë

This list wouldn’t be complete without a mention of Charlotte Brontë. In “Jane Eyre”, the reader follows the main character from her orphan childhood to her life at Thornfield Hall, the home of the mysterious Edward Rochester.

4. “Walden”, by Henry David Thoreau

Alcott’s father was influenced by transcendentalism Henry David Thoreau as well as Ralph Waldo Emerson, making “Walden” a must read to help understand some of the intricacies of “Little Women.” The author tells about his time spent in a cabin alone in the woods.

5. “Emma”, by Jane Austen

The main character, Emma Woodhouse, could be called an extraordinary matchmaker. Emma is flawed, interesting, and incredibly funny.

6. “East of Eden”, by John Steinbeck

The story centers on two families living in Salinas Valley, California who end up piecing together the story of Adam and Eve as well as the story of Cain and Abel.

seven. “Anna Karenina”, by Leo Tolstoy

These characters will be impossible to get out of your head once you dive into this story. Anna makes tragic choices that will keep readers captivated as she navigates 19th-century Russian society.

8. “Mansfield Park”, by Jane Austen

Protagonist Fanny Price is sent to live with her uncle, Sir Thomas Bertram, at his home in Mansfield Park in this Austen book. The story, which touches on themes of slavery, is darker than Austen’s other novels.

9. “To Kill a Mockingbird” By Harper Lee

If you came out of high school without reading this classic, now is the perfect excuse to pick it up again. The story will send you on a moving journey as attorney Atticus Finch takes on the case of Tom Robinson, a black man charged with a felony in a small town in Alabama. The story is filled with other memorable characters like Scout Finch and Boo Radley.

ten. “Wuthering Heights”, by Emily Brontë

Another classic from Brontë’s sister, “Wuthering Heights” follows the character of Heathcliff from young man to old age.

11. “One hundred years of solitude”, by Gabriel García Márquez

This novel follows the Buendía family in the fictional town of Macondo. Prose can be defined as “magical realism” and the story is unforgettable.

12. “Tess des d’Urberville”, by Thomas Hardy

This novel is full of intrigue as Tess’ character tries to inherit part of a family fortune that is not his own. When published, it was harshly criticized for challenging the mores of Victorian England.

13. “The Age of Innocence”, by Edith Wharton

Set in his golden years in New York City, Newland Archer fights his feelings for Countess Ellen Olenska and his responsibilities towards his wife, May Welland.

For more playlist ideas, check out:

To discover more offers, buying advice and recommendations for economical products, download the new app TODAY and subscribe to our Stuff We Love newsletter!

About Marcia G. Hussain

Check Also

The Worst Classic Book Covers

This content contains affiliate links. When you purchase through these links, we may earn an …