Jack Harlow says reading books like “Harry Potter” made him a better writer

By accepting his “Hitmaker of Tomorrow” award at Variety‘s Hitmakers Brunch Saturday, Jack Harlow credited reading books as Harry potter when he was in school to make him the writer he is today.

As reported by Variety, the “Already Best Friends” rapper began his acceptance speech by saying that when he was in second grade his school had a competitive reading program that awarded points to students who could prove through various quizzes that they had read difficult books.

“The harder the book, the more points you earn,” Harlow said. “I read all the books I could find. I read all the Harry potter books. Boy, those Harry potter the books are worth a few points.

Harlow added that at a year-end meeting, school staff announced the top three students who had accumulated the most points for reading. Harlow ended up coming in first place.

“So I want you to imagine this little sophomore, buzzcut, glasses, crooked teeth walking the bleachers on stage to accept that trophy,” Harlow said. “Before today, this was the only time in my life that I stood up in front of a crowd and won an award. “

The rapper added that he read a lot because he was more of an introvert growing up, but that’s what ultimately made him the writer he is today.

“I was not silent, I had friends, but I was much more comfortable observing and appreciating my own thoughts,” he explained. “I think if you would take a picture of me on that stage and show this kid, he would be pretty blown away. But to be fair, all the ingredients were there. It was a competition and it brought out the competitor in me, which is a big part of the kind I’m in. All of this reading is what made me the writer I am now, and I’m pretty sure that’s what will make me the Hitmaker of tomorrow. So thank you very much, I really appreciate you.

Harlow’s ‘the Boy Who Lived’ fandom means he must be excited for HBO’s next one Harry potter special meeting. The special, titled Harry potter 20e Birthday: Back to Hogwarts, will reunite Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint for the first time since the film adaptations ended in 2011. HBO recently released a first trailer for the special, which premieres January 1 on HBO Max.

About Marcia G. Hussain

Check Also

Reading books is like “eating Brussels sprouts”

A book a day keeps you away. Quirky rapper and Pete Davidson former love rival …